The Bank, Amsterdam
This former bank dates from 1926 and was designed by the architects B.J. and W.B. Ouëndag, together with H.P. Berlage. Defining characteristics of the building are the granite statues by Lambertus Zijl and the copper and bronze lamps and letterboxes. In the 70s, this monumental building was renovated and expanded by the architects Zwiers and Fontein.
They also closed off the glass roof and the atrium, which only served to accentuate the closed character of the building even more. In 2002 ABN Amro moved its head office to the Zuidas and the Kroonenberg Group agreed a contract for the redevelopment of the building.
The Rijnboutt agency, under the charge of Kees Rijnboutt and Frederik Vermeesch, were given the assignment of redeveloping the 80-year-old monument into an energy-efficient building complete with offices, multi-functional rooms and its own parking facilities.
The Bank is situated both on the Herengracht and Rembrandtplein, and is easily reached by public transport. The redevelopment of The Bank was also intended to give the inner city of Amsterdam an economic and social boost.
A wide range of sustainable materials and installations were used in the redevelopment of The Bank. For example, the building is heated and cooled using its own warmth and cold storage system. The building is fitted with high-quality double glazing, daylight-dependent lighting and automatic sun blinds. The SGS Search Engineers Firm endorsed the certification of sustainability and carried out the asbestos removal work.
The former bank has been transformed into an open, multi-functional user-friendly space that has attracted many visitors since its opening in 2010. Among the companies located in The Bank are the trendy bio-retailer Marqt and computer game manufacturer Guerrilla Games; In 2011, the Ajax Experience Centre, the Wagamama noodle bar and the Dutch head office of BNP Paribas will all open premises in the building. The Bank’s EPA-U score is 0.69 (A+ label).
|Original architect||Architectenbureau Ouëndag, 1926|
|Renovation||2006 - 2010|